

James Dallas, Chair
Maury County Democratic Party
1-931-548-6853
info@maurydems.org
https://maurydems.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 06/18/2024

MCDP Encourages Voting in August 1 Primary Election

<u>Columbia, TN:</u> The Maury County Democratic Party (MCDP) encourages eligible residents to vote in the August 1, 2024, primary election.

Democrats will choose candidates for the General Assembly and U.S. Senate in this primary election. Four candidates (Marquita Bradshaw, Lola Brown, Rep. Gloria Johnson, and Civil Miller-Watkins) are seeking the Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate. Two Democrats (Alex Pierce and Eileen Longstreet) are running for Tennessee House District 64. The races for U.S. Congress (Maryam Abolfazli), Tennessee State Senate (James Dallas), and House District 71 (Tim Coy) each only have one Democratic contender, and these nominations are unlikely to be seriously contested (though write-in votes may be counted).

The general election for Maury County School Board will also be conducted at the same time. Greg Hanners of Columbia is running to fill the District 8 seat currently held by Austin Hooper. Independent and Republican candidates are also running for school board this year.

The deadline to register to vote in the August primary is Tuesday, July 2. Voter registration information for first-time voters is available on the Tennessee Secretary of State's "Go Vote TN" app for smartphones and at govotetn.gov.

First-time voters are unable to vote by absentee ballot as you are required to show a voter ID the first time you vote. The MCDP recommends that college students or those expecting to be temporarily-away from Maury County in the fall vote in the primary so that they can vote by absentee ballot in the November election.

The county will use its new ES&S hand-marked, optically scanned voting system for the August elections. Voting on paper ballots will take longer and will likely slow down the voting and election process. For this reason, the MCDP encourages all voters to vote early at the Maury County Election Commission, 1207 Tradewinds Drive in Columbia. Early voting will be held July 12 through July 27. The hours are 8 a.m. until 4 p.m., Monday through Friday, and 8 a.m. until 12 noon on Saturday.

About the Maury County Democratic Party: The Maury County Democratic Party is the local county affiliate of the Tennessee Democratic Party and represents the interests of tens of thousands of Democratic leaning voters in the county.